
Photo: Aamir Khan from apunkachoice.com
I've been here in India for almost two years and still learning on their language called "Hindi"... Hindi sounds good but its difficult to speak, for me... I can understand now some long sentences but speaking it.....is too hard for me...
I'm trying everyday to speak some words but everytime I speak a Hindi word, they would ask me, "what are you talkin bout? Is that an english or filipino word?" Grrr!
The funniest moment was when me and my brother in-law Simit were watching a Hindi movie titled "Lagaan". It means tax...The leading man was Aamir Khan... In the movie, Indians have to play cricket against British to save themselves from paying taxes to the British government... While the British team were practicing cricket, I asked my brother-in-law,
"How bout Aamir Khan and his team, do they know how to play cricket now?"
My bro-in-law responded, "that is British team."
I was shocked at his odd response, I asked him again...
"I'm talking bout Aamir Khan and his team, not this British team".
He said, "there is no american team in this movie, its between British and Indian."
And that's when I realize my pronounciation of AAMIR KHAN's name...It sounds like AMERICAN...
I said "No, I'm talking bout Aamir Khan, the hero in the movie"...
He realized what I was talking about and he laughed so hard... Grrrrr!!!

No comments:
Post a Comment